Birthdays Evolution :)

In my last post I shared with you how fabulous was my birthday this year; courtesy my darling husband. By the grace of God my birthdays always been special for me.While writing the post, I took a small trip down memory lane and realised how celebration of  my birthdays have changed over the years.Through this post I would like to thank all those wonderful people in my life who have made my birthday special over the years. This post is dedicated to them.

#Childhood

We live in a joint family. The birthdays of us siblings; me, my elder sister and elder cousin brother (yes,I am purposefully referring my cousin as my sibling) was a grand affair. A unique tradition prevailed during our birthdays. We got up early in the morning, had a bath and got dressed in our birthday attire. We were made to sit in our puja room on a floor mat and all the elders fell in a line to bless us according to their seniority 😀 Our grandmother used to give us a small necklace of cashew and raisins which we nibbled on during the entire process. We were blessed with durva and wheat grains, and also handed special gifts. I remember chotomoni giving me Tintin comics every year! Yes, I have the entire series back in India. My mother’s lip smacking Rice pudding was the dish of the day. This age-old tradition came to an end when we got scattered: my sister got married, brother shifted to Kolkata for his job and I moved to University life in Kolkata. Little did I know that a completely new tradition awaits me there.

#Rabindra Bharati

RBU days make me nostalgic. I know my birthday will always be special for my friends, mainly because it was on my birthday the “birthday tradition” began.

555050_548637498523341_2074322413_n

My first birthday

On the occasion of each one of us’ birthday, the arrangements were carried out discreetly so that the birthday boy/girl did not have any idea about the upcoming plan. We raised money and cake was bought from “Monginis”; no other cake would do. We gathered at any tourist spots of Kolkata and celebrate there. We spent the entire day together: all of us were away from home and so we only had each other, and perhaps that is why we made sincere efforts to feel each other special.Till today I miss those days:the joy and innocent laughter.We had been together for five long years. After completion of Masters, we followed our own paths. I was the first one to leave Kolkata behind.

60537_304816436286515_194747939_n

The last birthday of University life 

Things changed for me after that: I fell in love,got married and finally this year it was this :

15034139_10202322483221426_338435611_o

How has your birthday evolved through the years?  Please let me know through  the comment section. Unti next time….

@Madhu

Leave a Reply

